ISMB 2021: BioinfoCoreWorkshop

From BioWiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

Workshop Overview

The virtual bioinfo-core workshop is scheduled for Friday, July 30th, 2021, from 11:00-15:20 UTC

  • 13:00-17:20 CEST (Europe)
  • 12:00-16:20 BST (UK/Ireland)
  • 7-11:20 am EDT (East coast)
  • 4-8:20 am PDT (West coast)

The bioinformatics core workshop is a workshop by practitioners and managers of Core Facilities for all members of core facilities, including scientists, engineers, analysts, operations and management staff. In this second weird and virtual of 18 years of bringing the Core community together at ISMB, we will explore topics relevant to bioinformatics core facilities through lightning talks followed by small-group break out discussions with insights brought back to the full audience for further discussion and knowledge sharing.

Organizers:

  • Madelaine Gogol, Stowers Institute, United States
  • Hemant Kelkar, University of North Carolina, United States
  • Alastair Kerr, CRUK-MI, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Brent Richter, Partners HealthCare of Massachusetts General and Brigham and Women’s Hospitals, United States
  • Alberto Riva, University of Florida, United States
  • Rodrigo Polo, AAFC/AAC, Canada

Social Events:

  • Test your bioinformatics trivia knowledge with questions from biology, bioinformatics, and related pop culture. Win a funny bioinformatics T-shirt! 17:00 UTC / 1 PM Eastern / 12 PM Central / 10 AM PDT Friday, July 30th (after the last ISMB events) in the bioinfo-core cafe connect room.


Lightning talks

Short talks on topics ranging from management to core formation and interaction to snakemake and ribosomal profiling. Some speakers may be available for live Q&A. For those that aren't, we can collect questions and post answers here afterwards.

Breakout sessions

We will circulate a document to allow group brainstorming on useful breakout session topics and sign up. We will divide attendees into breakout rooms based on the group they choose to participate in. Afterwards, main points will be brought back to the main audience for knowlege sharing and further discussion. We have enough time to do two rounds of this if we have enough topics.

Schedule

Times in UTC

Time Title Authors
11:00 - 11:10 An alien in a hospital data center: solitary management of a bioinformatics platform Nicole Scherer, Brazilian National Cancer Institute, Brazil
11:10 - 11:20 Accelerating the Velocity of Team Data Science with Research Project Management Gregg TeHennepe, The Jackson Laboratory, United States
11:20 - 11:30 The Bioinformatics Research Support Network at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Fatima Mitterboeck, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada, Canada
11:30 - 11:40 Building up a bioinformatics community at the Dutch institute for ecology Fleur Gawehns, NIOO-KNAW/KWS Vegetables, the Netherlands
11:40 - 11:50 Embracing Advances in Machine Learning & Imaging for Biomedical Research Krishna Karuturi, The Jackson Laboratory, United States
11:50 AM - 12 RiboSeeker: An End-to-End Package for Ribosome Profiling Data Analysis Ning Zhang, Stowers Institute, United States
12 - 12:40 Break
12:40 PM - 13:20 BIOINFO-CORE Keynote: Reproducible, adaptable, transparent, and composable data analyses with Snakemake Johannes Köster, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
13:20 - 13:30 Breakout room setup Rodrigo Polo, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada, Canada
13:30 - 14:00 Breakout room discussion 1 Participants
14:00 - 14:20 Break
14:20 - 14:30 Breakout room report 1 Participants
14:30 - 15:00 Breakout room discussion 2 Participants
15:00 - 15:20 Breakout room report 2 Participants